May 5, 2013

INDIA-Commemorative Postage Stamps on 100 Years of Indian Cinema

FDC Name:100 Years of Indian Cinema
Issue Date:3rd MAY'2013
Department of Posts was issued six Miniature Sheets depicting 50 iconic personalities of Indian Cinema to commemorate the century long journey of this medium of mass entertainment. This issue was released by Hon’ble President of India on 3rd May 2013 at Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi.However, it will be made available for sale to all Philatelic Bureaux in the month of June 2013.
The details of above issue are as follows:- 
  • Six Miniature Sheets with a print order of 8.1 Lakhs each are being issued. First two Miniature Sheets consist of nine stamps each and depict some Dadasaheb Phalke awardees. The other four with eight stamps each depict personalities from various fields of cinema.
  • The denomination of each Stamp is Rs. 5. Single stamp sheets are not being issued/ printed. 
  • Sufficient numbers of First Day Covers and Information Brochures will be available for sale with the stamps at the Philatelic Bureaux. 
  • First Day of Cancellation will be available for six months from the date of release as a special case.
  • The denomination of each Stamp is Rs. 5/-. Single stamp sheets are not being issued/ printed.
1st Miniature sheet : Ashok Kumar, Bhalji Pendharkar, Dhirendranath Ganguly, B. N. Sirkar, Bhupen Hazarika, Durga Khote, B. R. Chopra, Dev Anand and Hrishikesh Mukherjee.
2nd Miniature sheet: Majrooh Sultanpuri, Naushad, Nitin Bose, Prithviraj Kapoor, Raichand Boral, Ruby Myers, Sohrab Modi, Tapan Sinha and Yash Chopra.
3rd Miniature sheet: Allu Ramalingiah, Balraj Sahni, C.V. Sridhar, Kamaal Amrohi, Ashok Mehta, Bhanumathi, Chetan Anand and Geeta Dutt.
4th Miniature sheet: Kannadasan, Mehmood, Nagesh, Prem Nazir, Madan Mohan, Motilal, O. P. Nayyar and R. D. Burman.
5th Miniature sheet: Raj Khosla, Rajesh Khanna, Salil Chowdhury, Shailendra, Rajendra Kumar, S. V. Ranga Rao, Sanjeev Kumar and Shakeel Badayuni.
6th Miniature sheet: Shammi Kapoor, Smita Patil, Tarachand Barjatya, Utpal Dutt, Shankar Jaikishan, Suraiya, T. R. Sundaram and Vishnu Vardhan.
Source- India Post web site
Remark:This is the largest ever issue of 50 stamps on a single day by India Post.This issue was a record.Thanks to India Post that this time they have made the FDC large enough to fit the miniature sheet and it will have six FDC.The only drawback of the issue is lack of planning by India Post.The stamps & FDC will be available only in the month of JUNE'2013 as per India Post web site.

No comments:


Related Posts with Thumbnails

Useful Website

Stamp Collecting Links - The best stamp collecting websites on the internet

Subscribe via email

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

FeedBurner FeedCount

Philately serach on any topic