Sep 8, 2011

2011-Dr.M.S.Aney FDC from INDIA

FDC Name:Dr.M.S.Aney
Issue Date:29th AUG'2011
Dr Madhav Shrihari Aney (29 August, 1880, Wani - 26 January, 1968) was an Indian politician. He passed his B.A. examination from Morris College in Nagpur in 1902 and passed his B.L. examination from Calcutta University in 1907. He was one of the founder of the Congress Nationalist Party. He was one of the eminent disciples of Lokmanya Tilak apart from N C Kelkar, Kakasaheb Khadilkar, Gangadhar Deshpande, Dr B S Munje, Abhyankar, T B Paranjpe and Wamanrao Joshi.
In 1937, he was elected to the Central Legislative Assembly. During 1941-1943, he was a member of Governor General's Executive Council. He resigned in 1943, when the British Indian government refused to release Mahatma Gandhi, while he was on fast. He was the High Commissioner to Ceylon from 1943 to July, 1947. He joined the Constituent Assembly in 1947.
After Indian independence, Dr M S Aney was Governor of Bihar from 12 January 1948 to 14 June 1952. He was also a member of the 3rd Lok Sabha from 1962 to 1967, representing Nagpur constituency. He died on 26 January, 1968 evening, the very day he was honored with Padma Vibhushan In 1973, he was posthumously honored with the Sahitya Akademi Award for Sanskrit for his Shritilakayashornava (1971), a Sanskrit biography of Bal Gangadhar Tilak
Remark:Now a days India post is issuing so many Personalities stamps it became difficult for my friends to send all the issue.I have also restricted my posting of Personality FDC to my friends abroad.

No comments:


Related Posts with Thumbnails

Useful Website

Stamp Collecting Links - The best stamp collecting websites on the internet

Subscribe via email

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

FeedBurner FeedCount

Philately serach on any topic