Apr 3, 2010

Bicentenary of the May Revolution FDC from ARGENTINA

FDC Name:Bicentenary of the May Revolution
Issue Date:6th MARCH 2010.
Details:The president Cristina Fernandez has officially opened the call to the call for the creation of a logo for the celebrations of 200 years of the Revolution of May. The call aims to reward the best graphic and visual system to represent the country in celebration of the May Revolution of 1810-2010.
On May 25th 2010 Argentina will celebrate the 200 years of the revolution that opened the way to Independence. Throughout the year a big party for the next year will be prepared.
The 200 years of the Revolution opened the way for Argentina´s independence and it will be celebrated throughout the year through various activities and ceremonies that will end at the great feast of the May 25, 2010.
The National Government has established the Permanent Commission of the Bicentennial of the Revolution of May 1810 - 2010 which is tasked to do work, set goals and create awareness for the Bicentennial. It comprises the Head of Cabinet Sergio Massa, Interior Minister Florencio Randazzo, and Secretary of Culture of the Republic, José Nun. Since the Committee’s website can download materials, participate in thematic forums, upload photos and learn about the latest activities.
Brief summary of the May Revolution
The so-called Revolution of May was a historical process that resulted in the breaking of colonial ties with Spain in 1810 and enabled the road to independence, on July 9, 1816. The events of May did not crystallize over a liberating movement that came looking for, since 1806, greater political and economic participation of the Creoles. Thus, May 22, 1810, after he received news of the fall of the Spanish crown in the hands of French, Creole convened an open forum which had to be accepted by the Viceroy Cisneros, representing Spain in the country . After 4 days of debates and uprisings, it was decided to form a Board Creole assuming the national government until the Spanish Crown was liberated from French domination. Thus, the popular government was formed by intellectuals and military Creoles who came many years fighting for independence revolution: Cornelio Saavedra, Juan José Castelli, Manuel Belgrano, Miguel de Azcuénaga Manuel Alberti, Domingo Matheu, Juan Larrea, Juan José Paso and Mariano Moreno. From this fact, the struggle for independence was an inevitable path that led to the Congress of Tucumán of 9 July 1816
Remark:Nice real posted FDC but there are two cancellation on the stamps, 1st one is the First Day cachet cancellation and the other one is local post office cancellation.It should be better if there is only one cancellation.Thanks Monica

No comments:


Related Posts with Thumbnails

Useful Website

Stamp Collecting Links - The best stamp collecting websites on the internet

Subscribe via email

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

FeedBurner FeedCount

Philately serach on any topic